Jaco played with Joni Mitchell?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Skel, Mar 6, 2006.

1. Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    You'll know I'm a rookie bass player when I say that, to my knowledge, I have never heard Jaco Pastorius. I figured he was some kind of jazz / lead bass / "out in front" / featured artist kind of bass guru, and you went to see him play 128th notes with his teeth or something.

I was just reading something, and I learned that he played with "Joni Mitchell", who I have definitely heard of, and love. She is one of the few people I would call a genius. When I read this, It sounded like Eddie Van Halen playing with Bob Dylan or something. I'm gonna have to check this guy out. You would have to be a "bass player" and be able to edit your playing to complement Joni Mitchell's band, I would think.
  2. sotua

Sep 20, 2004
    US Northeast
    He played in "Shadows and Light", and "Hejira". I think some others, too, but those ones are the ones I can recall off the top of my head.
  3. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

I have the whole concert on video. There's also Pat Metheny.
    I like their Good Bye Porkpie Hat version.
  4. tkozal

tkozal Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2006
    New York City
    Don Juans Reckless Daughter, Hejira (although he's not on the whole thing), Mingus, Shadows and Light, there is much Jaco Joniing for you to dig into....
  5. yeah, i have the shadows and light video...i thought it was good...my favorite song is "amelia" (although i don't think Jaco plays on it ;) )
  6. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    First, I heard Jaco's solo album & then the Weather Report stuff...truthfully, it was the Shadows & Light opener, "In France They Kiss On Main Street", that really floored me.
  7. nysbob

Sep 14, 2003
    Cincinnati OH
    Quite honestly, I think his work with her is some of his best.

What an ass kicker...;)
  8. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile