Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jaco's Best Album

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by in_exile, Mar 24, 2000.

1. in_exile

in_exile

Feb 14, 2000
    I am new to the world of Jaco. And I would like a few suggestions of which album(s) to pick up.

"I can't never stop working hard." -Bootsy Collins

2. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    I'm sure you'll get a few recommendations ;-)

You gotta have JP's FIRST solo album...it's very diverse & is the essence of Jaco's musical "mutt-dom"; there's Bebop, Latin, R&B, Funk, Soul, "Orchestral" stuff,...best news? You can pick it up cheap(about $8 here at the Beach).

Others I like(in no particular order)...
    1)Joni Mitchell-Shadows & Light(amazing, dominating LIVE performance...Jaco was at the top of his game).
    2)Joni Mitchell-Mingus("Dry Cleaner From Des Moines" wipes me out!).
    3)Weather Report-Night Passages
    4)Weather Report-self titled(Jaco's final one w/ the band)
    ...I know most folks prefer WR's Heavy Weather-personally, I like these better(on a whole).
    5)Jaco Pastorius-30th Birthday Concert(...happenin')
    6)Jaco Pastorius-Word Of Mouth
    7)Joni Mitchell-Heirja
    8)Joni Mitchell-Don Juan's Reckless Daughter

...whatever you do, avoid the LIVE IN NYC cds-Jaco was NOT all there for these(if you get my drift).

3. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    I agree with Jim's choices but would like to narrow it down to these:

Jaco's self-titled debut
    Word of Mouth
    Invitation (a way better live album than the Birthday concert, in my opinion)

For his sideman work, two good choices would be:

Pat Metheny, Bright Size Life
    Weather Report, Heavy Weather

Hope this helps.

Will C.

4. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999