Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jaguar basses.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ironmaidenisgod, Jun 7, 2004.

1. ironmaidenisgod

ironmaidenisgod

May 20, 2004
    I'm a beginner so please forgive me if this question is stupid.

I own a Gibson 4 string fretted Jaguar.I thought that Jaguars were a Gibson make,but now I've realised that various manufacturers make it.

Just wonder if you can tell me the strengths and weaknesses of Jaguars.Like whether they are more receptive to slapping/popping and which bassists use them etc.

2. hyperlitem

hyperlitem Guest

Jul 25, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    gibson does not make a jaguar bass to my knowledge, actually no one does to my knowledge. If your talking about the jaguar body shape, which is a fender guitar, then the closest gibson shape i can think of is the non reverse thunderbird, which im not even sure if that ever came out or just the firebird guitar version did. Some pictures would help, as well as a few more details.

3. iamthebassman

iamthebassman

Feb 24, 2004
    Austin,Texas
    Endorsing Artist: Phantom Guitars, Eastwood Guitars
    Yeah, I have no idea what you're talking about.

4. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member

Non Reverse T Bird ?

5. hyperlitem

hyperlitem Guest

Jul 25, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    to my knowledge they never made a non reverse thunerbird, but they did make a non reverse firebird, which is why i said that. Thats pretty much the the closet body shape to a jaguar that i can think of, so that is why i suggested that. Im sure theyd do something like that for you in the custom shop, but why, the non reverse body style is ugly.

6. bassplayer347

bassplayer347 Guest

Dec 24, 2003
    Kansas
    the Fender Bass VI looks pretty close to jag shape

7. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA