Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jamming with a bassist -- expectations?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by miko, Feb 14, 2006.

1. hello-

long time no visit.

i'm a drummer preparing to jam with a bassist who has decent theoretical knowledge and a pretty good ear, but no experience playing with any musician.

i want to do more of a free-form jam session, where we each play something and work off one another, but this bassist prefers to play cover tunes.

i find this a little counter-intuitive to my idea of jamming, which is 'take what you know and try to work off one another'. i figured we'd do standard rock, blues, jazz, funk progressions, trade fours, that kinda thing. the notion of playing covers while there's no other musicians to round out the rest of the songs seems odd. to me, covers are something you practice on your own time.

what do you think is a good expectation/approach in a drums/bass jam session? and regarding covers, do you think my point is valid, or it's important to play covers as well, in this instance?

peace & thanks.

2. txbasschik

txbasschik

Nov 11, 2005
    Leander, Texas
    His approach seems odd to me, too. It is much easier to jam to cover songs, and take off on 'em, with a guitar and vocals to round things out. My husband and I, and sometimes my little girl, when she's playing with the drums, jam on progressions/patterns quite a bit. With Steve, it teaches me a lot. When I do that with my daughter, she learns how to keep rhythm with another person. Its fun!

Maybe try this...Do a few covers with him, and let him warm up and develop some feel for how you play. Then suggest that he try a progression and just run with it. After warming up with what he wants to do, he may be more willing to try what you'd like to do.