Jamming with a Saxophone

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ace123, Feb 12, 2006.

1. Ace123

Sep 25, 2002
    Rochester, NY
    Hey everyone
    Usually when I jam it's with a guitarist, or just a drummer, or even a keyboardist. I've never jammed with a sax player before so i was wondering what I should do? He has a background in jazz, plays funk, and used to be in a blues band. (All things I too play). When i jam with a guitarist, he or I will usually start off a riff or an idea and keep it going. But i'm not sure what to do with the sax player.
    I know I need to give him room to solo, but does he build a melody too or is that my job as well?

Am i supposed to just start walking a progression? Am I supposed to wait for him to start a melody or what?

Thanks a lot, any input would be appreciated.
  2. Techmonkey

Sep 4, 2004
    Wales, UK
    I'm by no means a pro, a good, or even an adult bass player (15). But my best mate happens to have a diploma in alto sax with the ABRSM - that's well over grade 8. We constantly have jams, and we both like everything from funk to pop. (Naturally ska is our favourite genres though)

He's way better technically than I am, so usually I just lay down a groove in a key that he likes (I usually ask him before we play) Because we mainly jam with his tenor rather than alto usually we play in (my) key of C.

He likes me to play in the same key for a good while when we first start a groove so that he knows what I'm trying to achieve, and then when I feel like it I stick in changes that I think he'll be able to pick up on, and we just go on like that.
  3. My band has a lead alto sax player, and I think that you shouldn't really have to worry about what to do. As long as you guys arn't muddying up the jam, if he's good he'll know right where he should be in terms of under or over playing.
  4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

My band also has a lead alto player. Just let him do what he does. Back him up.