Jayson's custom bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by P RicanWITaBASS, Oct 31, 2005.

1. Hey all,
    I'm a beginning bassist who has been playing for approximately 9 months currently (the time when this thread was created) and I am looking to buy a costume maid bass sometime around March of 2006, '07, or '08, all depending on how much cash I have. ANYWAY, I'm just looking for advice on any persons who live within 2-3 hours of Cleveland, OH and will make costume basses or companies that produce quality costume mde basses? Any suggestions, ideas, thoughts, pieces of advice, or reccomendations are welcome.

2. :eyebrow: My fiance wears a maid costume sometimes when I play my bass, but I've never played a costume maid bass......
  3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Only playing for 9 months and you already know that you want a custom made bass?? Before you go plunking down serious amounts of cash on a custom, you need to spend a lot more time playing different basses/amps to figure out what exactly you want/need. Your needs as a bassist are going to change significantly as your playing matures/gets better. You seriously need to go out and play everything you can get your hands on now, and I would be willing to bet you will be able to find your ideal bass off-the-shelf, so to speak.
  4. Hahaha You took the words right out of my mouth.

5. Ahahahaha that made my day!
  6. Joe Turski

Joe Turski

Jul 29, 2003
    First, try here....dictionary.com

Second, Ryan hit the nail right on the head. Why waste money on a custom, when it might not give you the tone, playability, or look you're looking for. Try hitting music stores that carry high end equipment. (where I live, a tough thing to find) Ask to play whatever catches your eye, and then play the ones you think are ugly as sin. You'll never know until you've played it.