Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

jazz 5 or stingray 5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Michael R, Mar 12, 2004.

1. Michael R

Michael R

Nov 20, 2003
    Henderson, TN
    Well I've been playing an Ibanez GSR200 for about 2 years now so I've decided it's about time for an upgrade. I've got it narrowed down to either a 5 string Fender American Jazz bass or a 5 string Musicman Stingray although other suggestions are welcome. I've played the jazz on several occasions at the local music store and I really liked it but I haven't gotten to play the ray yet. I play mostly harder rock fingerstyle and occasionally with a pick. So which bass do yall think would best suit me?

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    I think that either would make great rock instrument with a slight edge to the bright sound of the Stingray 5. I have owned a couple and they are great instruments. I would put one against basses costing twice the price. Finally, the Stingray has fairly close string spacing for a five which might be nice for a pick player.

3. si_mon13

si_mon13

Sep 1, 2003
    denmark
    the jazz 5'ers ive played had a really sloppy b-string so if you're going to use that much with agressive playing i would go for the sr5 since its tighter. i dont think the stringspacing is too narrow on the sr5, play both and get what you like the best.

4. I went through the same process and kept going back to the Stingray, it just felt the best in my hands and I liked the tone better too.

I bought my SR5 last month after playing anything I could get my hands on. It was the one for me.

Make sure you play everything and then see what you gravitate back to, then play them as much as you can before you buy!