1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

jazz bands

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by topof, Mar 11, 2008.

1. topof

topof

Mar 11, 2008
    basically i just started a jazz band
    but i have no experience in jazz
    :help:
    all ive usually played is rock and just mixtures of stuff

i was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me advice about what i should study

any bassists i can learn from?
    theory thats esstential?
    etc.

2. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    Depends on the kind of jazz you guys are playing...

I've never studied jazz, but listen to a lot and jam on it occasionally, BUT, I would say, listen to anything from Herbie Hancock. He's got everything from straight jazz standards to funky sh*t. My favorite is the Thrust album. Suuuuper funky basslines!

If you're looking for more fusion stuff, check out Weather Report or Jean Luc Ponty. Just a selection from some of my faves. Hope this helps!

3. spc

spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston

I just started a Klezmer band, but I have no experience with Klezmer music, so I'm in a similar situation.

:rolleyes:

4. topof

topof

Mar 11, 2008
    thanks a lot

it helped a lot

5. Paging Ed....Ed please report to the BM&P forum....:bag:

6. basically i just opened a french restaurant
    but i have no experience in french cuisine
    :help:
    all ive usually cooked is grilled cheese and just mixtures of stuff

i was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me advice about what i should study

any chefs i can learn from?
    theory thats esstential?
    etc.

Now doesn't that sound silly?:eyebrow: Back up your cart and start training your horse.

7. matthewbrown

matthewbrown Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2003
    Harwich, MA, USA
    Umm, listen to a bunch of jazz really, really hard?

8. spc

spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston