Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jazz Bridge Cover

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JJBluegrasser, May 27, 2003.

1. JJBluegrasser

JJBluegrasser Wannabe Snazzy Dresser

Apr 17, 2003
    USA, Raleigh, NC
    Oh man, is this a newbie question. I've been playing bass for better than 5 years, but I've never understood what the bridge cover on those sweet old basses is for. Is it just asthetic, or does it serve a function too? It looks great. I thought of putting one on my '98 Jazz Deluxe, but I'm not sure if that is a good idea. Especially if I don't even though what they are for!:)

Jason

2. I think I'm right in saying original Jazz basses that had bridge covers fitted had mutes fitted to the strings under the bridge cover to stop any open strings ringing.

This may have been only older Jazz basses, I'm not sure about recent reissues. But as for aesthetics only, they do look pretty damn cool ;)

3. BoiNtC

BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    My Jaco production bass came with foam mute to put under the bridge cover (not attached but just an option if I wanted it) not sure about new MIA Jazz basses or whatever

4. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I was always told/assumed/read/whatever that they were first installed as additional shielding as well as a finishing touch (think of the cars produced in the 50's)

They do limit your right hand (or left if playing lefty)... but I dig the look too :)

:bassist:

do it if it won't get in your way. You could always use 2 sided tape to stick them on till you're sure you want it or not.

5. Caca de Kick

Caca de Kick Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma