Jazz copy advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pantsman, Oct 21, 2005.

1. Hey all, while on a visit to a local music store I played a Monterey Jazz bass copy, Natural finish, Maple fretboard, looked very nice. I plan on using this as a project bass as it 'feels' perfect in my hands. The problems I have is once plugged in the only string that sounded good was the E, it had massive growl but the other 3 didn't, my questions is, would new strings, pickups, nut and bridge help even out all the strings?

Here's where I need some advice, what mods?! Graphite nut maybe?, BadassII seems the standard on a jbass and I have nfi on what pickups. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, but please tell my why you suggest the mods, cause I am new to modding :D

Ohh I nearly forgot, the bass played pretty good and it hadn't even been set-up and its only AU$360!! (cheaper than a Squier)

Edit: if it helps I play mainly Hard Rock, old skool metal and hip-hop metal.
  2. Bump, i expected to get swamped with replies, everyone on TB loves expressing their opinion, maybe I should wait until i have the bass, photo's gets peoples mojo's goin'
  3. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    A set of strings and a full setup will make a dramatic difference. Do that first, then, after getting to know the instrument for a while, consider other changes.
  4. Groover

Jun 28, 2005
    Ohio, USA
    I agree with philbiker on the strings. If it feels good in your hands, it probably means that the nut and bridge are set-up to your likeing. The pickup height may be causing the difference in the strings. Maybe their set too low on the G string side cause the difference in volume, but that's just a guess.

I'd see if the shop is willing to throw in a new set of strings, and maybe install them before you buy so you can test it.

If they really want to sell the bass, then a set of slinkies shouldn't be the end of the world for them.
  5. iriegnome