1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Jazz improv- where to start?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Fassa Albrecht, Sep 30, 2008.

1. I know how to do some improv but I've always been interested in jazz and jazz improv.

Where is the best place to start and what is essential to know before I start? I know my scales and my music theory pretty well.

Also, are there any sites/specific books I should take a look at? I've got one called The Ultimate Jazz Bassist but it's horrendously confusing.

2. ^Cheers

3. Cheers

Also, does anyone know of a SMALL book of scales I could get for to keep in my Shergold case?

4. ilovethesechord

ilovethesechord

Jun 27, 2008
    Meet a "Jazz" drummer.

5. ^:D

6. ihassiphilus

ihassiphilus

Sep 30, 2008
    I'm new to jazz myself, but scales don't help a ton. It's more important to understand how chords work and fall together. Learn standard tunes and look for common patterns. It's more important to be able to walk properly than solo.

For example: ii-V-I is very common, I-VI-V-ii is a common turn-around. You use diminished chords when going down a fifth (let's say E to B). Your circle of fifths comes in really handy. E to A etc.

Arpeggios and common walking patterns are great to learn. Try Todd Johnson's dvd's. They're very good for someone who hasn't walked before and Todd has been nothing but friendly and helpful to me. Besides a handful of other things, Todd's dvds are probably the best out there.

Carol Kaye's teaching stuff is good for theory and chordal stuff, reasonably priced etc. Fair warning: she's pretty set in her ways and can be a little...testy sometimes. Nevertheless, she does know her stuff and can play some mean bass (and guitar).

Good luck. Jazz is like that little old asian man who turns out to be a Karate master and kicks the crap out of you when you think you've got 'em.

7. DocBop