Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jazz question and a couple others

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Plowboy22, Nov 12, 2005.

1. Plowboy22

Plowboy22 Guest

Sep 27, 2004
    Sarasota, Florida
    Hi All,
    Since becoming a member of TB I have taken a hard look at myself as a bassist and come to the realization that I am mediocore at best. (and that is giving myself a lot more credit than I really deserve) I have been playing on and off for about 10 years. I have played in many local bands and had a great time doing it but I am your typical learn from tab and or ear player. Mostly rock and blues stuff.

Ok, enough of that....

1. I want to expand into jazz. What and/or who should I listen too? What do you consider the essential jazz to know?

2. I am in the process of learning to read music. I am doing this on my own as I can't find a music teacher in my area that is worth a crap! Books, videos etc. that anyone can recommend would be greatly appreciated! I am currently just learning my notes and I am practicing that everyday. Any help or advice again would be greatly appreciated!

3. Practice for me has always been the typical play what I know, work on new songs for the band, then just generally screw off. Any advice on how to organize my practice time ( I have about 1 hour a day due to job, family, etc.) would yet again be greatly appreciated.

Now my reasons for all this are two fold. First I REALLY want to take my bass playing and generall muscianship to the next level. Second I have had to turn down good paying gigs because of my lack of knowledge.

Thanks in Advance!
    Eric

2. I'm no expert, having only played for four years - but I feel i have good advice.

1. I started getting into jazz by listening to "fusion" - Weather Report, Herbie Hancock, Return to Forever, etc...I still am not a fan of jazz, but i dig fusion