Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jazz Theory

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mudbass714, May 10, 2002.

1. Mudbass714

Mudbass714

Jun 19, 2001
    Hi everyone. I am a bassist who would like to learn more about the theory behind jazz (solo bass to be more specific), but for now all that I need are just some of the more commonly used jazz scales. Any other tips/advice you may like to offer is also appreciated. Thanks everyone!

2. Mudbass714

Mudbass714

Jun 19, 2001
    Thanks dude, that helped me out a ton.

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I would recommend getting "The Jazz Theory Book" by Mark Levine published by Sher - this made a huge difference to my understanding and explains everything with exampels that actually make sense in the context of real tunes!

So - it's OK knowing scales, but you need to really know how they are applied and fit with chords/functional harmony or the knowledge is wasted really.

4. chrisbs

chrisbs

Jan 12, 2002
  5. Mudbass714

Mudbass714

Jun 19, 2001
    Thank you everyone for the book suggestions, I'm already looking at them at the local music and book stores. I really appreciate all your help.

6. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida
    Would you please mind giving a more detailed answer as to how thats not playing music? Im not disputing it, but Im just really curious, cos you can play music from one scale or mode. Or at least I thought you can.

7. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS