Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

jazz worth listening to

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by x15, Apr 26, 2005.

1. x15

x15

Feb 4, 2003
    New Delhi, India
    hey..
    i've been playing bass for about two years now(with a recently purchased & insanely gorgeous ibanex srx505), and i want to start playing jazz and blues and things like that-mostly because the basslines are more complex and varying.. and if nothing else, the music's just more mellow..problem: i'm completely lost and i have no idea where to start..the only things i've been listening to from that genre are miles davis and muddy waters. any guidance at all, will be thoroughly appreciated.. guidance which would involve me downloading songs that are easily available on the internet instead of lps, would be appreciated-more still : )
    :bassist: :bassist: :bassist:

2. CQBASS

CQBASS

Dec 1, 2004
    Asheville NC
    John Coltrane, Mingus, Charlie Parker. These three are a great place to start. Look for recordings with Ray Brown or Ron Carter on bass as well. Jazz will open up a whole new musical world to you IMHO.

3. For sure...my first albums were John Coltrane's Blue Train and Miles' Kind of Blue. Those struck me right away. Of course my next album was Al Di Meola's Electric Rendezvous which I love to death despite what others think...but that fusion only has components of the jazz that you would be starting with. (Anthony Jackson f'n rocks on it though).

Anyway, listen listen listen...there's tons out there and it will really be a "new world" as he said.

Charlie Parker/Dizzy Gillespie - Bebop originale
    Miles Davis - Cool to original fusion
    Coltrane - Oh my gosh...Avant-Garde/Hard bop ...but prob the best ever (check out My Favorite Things and Giant Steps...you'll love em...also for modernish: A Love Supreme)!
    Sonny Rollins - Get some african/carribean vibe