Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jazz

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by pesci1313, Jul 11, 2001.

1. I've just recently(being young) started listening to some jazz and i enjoy it, what i'm wondering though is, what are some good jazz bands and artists? not just bassists. i find i enjoy acid jazz a fair amount but also want to hear more and more.

2. Ciaran

Ciaran

Apr 4, 2001
    Ireland
    I'm new to jazz but here's some jazz musicians I like..

Miles Davis
    Thelonious Monk
    Duke Ellington

My favourite jazz bassists:

Charlie Mingus
    Charlie Haden
    Milt Hilton

I'm sure somebody who has a greater knowledge of jazz will follow up with a more informative reply.

3. I'm getting into jazz at the moment too. I'm no expert either but check out a guy called Gil Scott Heron. He is amazing and happens to have a great bassist too!
    I reccomend listening to a track called 'Lady Day and John Coltrane'. Also check out 'The Bottle' and 'Gun'.
    They are all exellent and are worth a listen.

4. Asking (I'm paraphrasing) "what's some good jazz to try?" is kinda like asking "what's some good cheese to try?" There are so many types and some are more palatable than others which might "take some getting used to". Here's one very palatable suggestion: Miles Davis - "Kind of Blue" which is one of the most popular jazz albums of all time and deservedly so.

5. foolfighter24

foolfighter24 Guest

Apr 22, 2000
    Arizona
    These are all greats. I also like:

Charlie Parker
    John Coltrane
    Chick Corea
    Dizzy Gillespie
    Horace Silver
    Stan Getz
    Sunny Rollins
    Art Blakey
    Dexter Gordon
    Bill Evans
    and Herbie Hancock-this dudes a little funky, but my dad calls him jazz

Those are my favorites.