Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

JBass Dummy coils?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by FritzM, Jan 7, 2005.

1. FritzM

FritzM Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2001
    Madison, MS
    This may be a dumb question, but here goes.

1. I have a master built Fender Custom Shop Jazz with unbelievable sounding pickups. I only use the back pickup. I just like that sound.

2. I haven't been happy with the hum canceling pups that I have tried because they don't have the richness and punch of my single coils.

3. Is it somehow possible to deactivate the neck pickup from making sound, but turn it on to create a dual coil scenario? Kind of like making the neck pickup a "dummy" coil.

4. Sorry if this is stupid, but the 60 cycle hum is driving me crazy on certain gigs.

Thanks___Fritz

2. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    No, you can't use the neck pickup to cancel noise without it also having an impact on the sound. If you want to eliminate the noise, try shielding both your control cavity and your pickup cavities. You would be amazed at the difference that shielding makes.

3. phatcactus

phatcactus

Apr 2, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    I bet some pickup maker could build you a magnetless J neck pickup. I'm not sure what it'd do to the sound, but it might be worth a look.

4. DubDubs

DubDubs

Aug 23, 2004
    Los Angeles
    do what xyllion said. There was a very recent thread about how to do it check that out.

5. Bassic83

Bassic83

Jul 26, 2004
    Texas, USSA
    Out of curiosity, what humbucking Js have you tried? I love my DiMarzio UJ's. I also shield like a mo' fo'... ;)

6. Tritone

Tritone Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Santee, America
    What do you think about adding a 3rd dummy coil ala Alembic?

7. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL