1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Jeff Berlin sorting ideas for next album

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by CDweller, Dec 21, 2011.

1. CDweller

CDweller

Oct 24, 2009
    Clearwater, FL
    Jeff Berlin is going into the studio next Tuesday to record his next album. He'll be doing some songs with him on electric and his colleague Richard Drexler on upright, as well as piano. I'm a student at Jeff's school, and Jeff called me to lay down some upright so he could see how his ideas on electric sounded with an upright laying down the bass. I'm a beginner on the upright, and really was reticent to expose Jeff to my shortcomings, but he wouldn't have it, and it was a great experience.

Great electric bass from Jeff, not so good upright from me! - YouTube

2. Tampabass

Tampabass Going Viral By 2080 Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2006
    Tampa
    I know you are, but what am I?
    Nice ideas/soloing by Jeff, as per usual.
    Agreed with the above - hard to tell what was happening with the changes, as the sound was sort of murky.
    Say hi to Jeff for me. Where is he doing the recording? Locally?

3. I must be goofy, I got it :meh:

But I am running the clip through my home junk.
    I have EQ it so the upright is clearer, so...

4. pacojas

pacojas "FYYA BUN"

Oct 11, 2009
    MEXICANADAMERICA
    Jeff sounded out of tune with himself, IMHO. :confused:

5. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Big Dogs Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    Sounds like a great experience.

6. OMG tough crowd!
    I think it's way cool. Jeff's one of the things I miss the most about working at Musician's Institute. Gawd I'm old LOL

7. I think the sneeze may have done it. :D

8. CDweller

CDweller

Oct 24, 2009
    Clearwater, FL