John East Retro Jazz for my Lakland DJ5?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by MaglorOnBass, Feb 6, 2018.

1. MaglorOnBass

MaglorOnBass

Jan 23, 2018
    View attachment 2905132 I have been playing bass on and off for 25 years, and have recently been on a quest to find my perfect 5 string sound, since I started playing with the church band.

I’ve bought 3 basses in the last couple months. A Warwick Corvette Rockbass (which I returned), an Ibanez SR605, and a Lakland DJ5.

The Ibanez has an incredible amount of punch to it that really cuts through the band, but has a sterile or canned quality to it - almost like a synth bass. Not a huge fan of the styling either (one comment was: “what a beautiful bass - wait, that is a bass, right?”) And the string spacing is a little cramped.

The Lakland, is badass. Love the feel and look of it - major cool factor. The tone is great too, much more rich and natural. But it lacks the punch of the Ibby. I bought an RC Bass Booster preamp pedal to try to make up for it and it just doesn’t. I try to crank the bass nob to mimick the Ibby, and it just distorts. Boomy not punchy.

The Lakland is a passive bass, and I’m considering getting a drop in preamp. From what I’ve been reading, the John East Retro Jazz seems like a good option.

With all the above considered, do you think this will get me where I want to go? Great Lakland tone, with a strong modern punch?

Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  2. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone.

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I haven’t kept up with Lakland basses, but the East preamp used to be a stock option for the DJ, so it’s probably a pretty good way to go.

P.S. Great looking bass BTW!

MaglorOnBass likes this.
  3. MaglorOnBass

MaglorOnBass

Jan 23, 2018
    Thanks!

I just realized that East makes a DJ specific preamp. I like the black detail for my bass.

DJ-RETRO - BASS