John Turner quoted in UK Making Music magazine?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by The Mock Turtle Regulator, Apr 1, 2002.

1. Making Music March 2002, p37.

Dave Williamson's "Low Life" bass column.

The four string/five string debate has raged for a long time, prompting sporadic and sometimes very heated exchanges on a bass player's website I visit from time to time.

"No offence, but it's not the number of strings that makes the bassist. This whole "I have more strings than you" is like "my penis is bigger than yours"", stated a member of the pro-four-string lobby on one such occasion.

"That's a very insecure and juvenile approach to an artistic decision. I stopped looking at my bass as an extension of my penis when I was about 18. Then again, I've been playing only 7 and 8 stringed basses for the past 8 yrs", retorted the opposition, huffily.
    Handbags at fifty paces it is then, lads.

sounds like these "heated exchanges" have been quoted from this very forum- what name have you been posting under, Mr Dave Williamson? or are you a lurker?
  2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    hey! :D i want credit! he should have at least put the url up there.

what was the point of his column? i'd like to read it.

jeeze, he must be browsing the ole' archives. we haven't had that debate in at least a year - note the "8 years" part. i'm at 9 now :D
  3. LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    If you read the first page in that huge post about Rickenbacker's in the basses section, some guy goes on about how if you have more than 4 strings you should just go buy a guitar. :rolleyes:

I don't understand what the big deal about it is. If you play a Tenor Saxaphone but you then buy a Saprano Sax, should you just go get a flute then? :rolleyes: The whole argument against extended range basses is about as stupid as the argument that bassist are not bassist if they play with a pick.