Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

joinin a band: pros, cons, usual problems, arguments....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Plucky, Jul 31, 2002.

1. Plucky

Plucky

Jun 18, 2002
    Underwater
    i was bored playin in my house even though im a young and novice bass player and i thought i could join a band, or create one. but i read some stories about awful, arrogant guitarists, and stuff and i decided to create a topic about and suggest ppl to talk about their experiences auditioning, or being part of bands. i'd like to know more about this before playin with a couple of little bastards or dissapoint ppl with my horrible sound. so.......3,2,1.........write!

2. hey plucky, i am in a band which i started so far everything has gone really well apart from a few times were the guitarist's have told me to turn down!!! :mad: we have done a few gigs and i enjoyed all of them. If i were you i would join or start a band its a great experience and if you dont like the guitarist or drummer you can always leave!

thanks morty :p

3. Jerry, Jr.

Jerry, Jr.

Jun 7, 2002
    Boston, MA
    Hey Plucky. I've played in several bands and with dozens of musicians in the 16 years that I have been playing. There are certainly pros and cons that you will encounter in band situations. It's like being in a relationship. Only, instead of two people, you have 3,4,5 or more! So, personalities, schedules, talent level, these things all come into play.

I think some things you should try to remember is to be open minded, fair and be willing to work hard and make sacrifices if you want to be in a successful band. Another thing I found to be useful when I was first playing was to play with musicians who are better than you are but, are also patient. This made me work harder and practice more and ultimately become a better musician.