Joining a band from a wanted ad?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by paintandsk8, Feb 26, 2005.

1. paintandsk8

paintandsk8 Pushin' my soul through the wire...

May 12, 2003
    West Lafayette, IN
    So you've all seen those adds on the bulletin board at your local music store. "Bass player wanted for (insert genre here) band". Has anyone here actually joined a band in this manner, and more importantly, did it work out?
  2. I sure did. 6 years ago while wandering the halls of the Music Department at the University of Calgary I saw a flyer advertising "Bass Player wanted for Heavy Metal Band, contact etc..." Man, I wish I'd kept that flyer.

I thought to myself, "hmmm, these guys must be serious, because they're advertising at the University. I've never done anything like this before, but have always wanted to, I'll go for it!"

Sure enough, 6 years later I'm still playing with that guitar player and we have an awesome drummer and are poised to start recording and playing some serious gigs. The whole story is really something that'll one day be posted on our website.

So, in conclusion, go for it. Check out what the band is playing, if it fits you and be as ready as ever to adjust yourself to their style of playing for a while, as they'll hopefully have songs for you to learn.

Good luck!
  3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I joined my current band through an ad in the local free hippie paper. By the time I called, they had already hired another guy, but I left my number and said to give me a call if things didn't work out. Well, things didn't work out after about two months, and they called me for an audition. I passed, they passed, so we've been together for about three years. Now I'm one of the core three ... couldn't get fired if I quit.

The first bass player plays with Mickey Ratt now.
  4. paintandsk8