Joining a band with lack of knolage

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Chili, Jan 26, 2006.

1. Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    hey all, i really wonna join a band coz i dont see any hope with the guitar player coming back to my old band, he seems to be in 2 differant minds about the whole thing....for the 3rd time, anyway, i've seen advertisments for bass players in music shops n stuff, but i'm abit thingy about it becouse i dont no everything about theoary and cant read music fully, i no where the notes r around the neck and tend to no what notes werk with what etc, but becouse i dont have enough knolage about theory it makes me...i cant think of the word at the minute but it makes me.....about joining a random band, like i feel like i might not be able to live up to there expectaions n stuff, i've been playing for nearly 3 years now and have had compliments from other musicians and random people deffinitly for how long i've been playing, do u think i should just go for it without this knolage of theo or what?
    another thing that gets me is, my cuz plays bass and he knows less than me about bein in key and notes and scale, he really cant groove and he trys to be all flash, like he slap pops like that kid on that video in the recordings section, but becouse he trys to be all flash everyone thinks hes awsome and gets asked to be in loads of bands, and i'm thinking ***, he isnt as good as yous r making him out to be, hes good in his own right but now he has an eego boost like u wouldnt beleive, sorry for all the babling, but i just wanted to get that out lol
  2. Vampyre

Dec 9, 2004
    how old are you?
  3. Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    just turned 18 last week, becouse i no theres musicans out there that can look down on u with there noses stuck up if u dont no stuff like theory, i am planning on learning it but theres alot of other stuff to learn yet, but i'm woundering if bands will accept me without known a load of it