Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Joining the musicians' union...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thrash_jazz, Apr 17, 2003.

1. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I have been thinking about doing this - I am told it is one of the easier ways to find gigs, but I have no experience whatsoever with musicians' unions.

What are the dues like?
    Can you join if you have a non-music-related full-time job, as I do?
    What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Thanks in advance :)

2. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    Do you do a lot of recording?

Do you tour or do local gigs?

Member, Local 23

Pro's:

Contract safety

Pension (stongest in the industry) - freelancers can now get pension on gigs. before, you had to be incorporated to get pension on casual gigs, now there is a new form to get pension with out being incorporated

networking

insurance for your gear (in the states - your homeowners ins won't cover your gear - they will find out you are a pro and say "you ain't covered buddy!" our insurance recognizes you as a pro musician)

local, regional and national contracts already negotiated (i would have to explain how it works for new use)

other stuff - pm me for a full scoop

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    I've been on the local scene here for a year and a bit and have been trying to get noticed as a freelancer. I've done this mostly by networking at jam sessions and open stages, and it's starting to work a bit, but I heard that joining the union might be a helpful asset, especially when dealing with pro acts.

4. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    If you tour with a backup band, its nearly a necessity. If you do session work or piecemeal studio work, its nearly a necessity.