JOLANA BASSO IX questions

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by paultma, Jul 24, 2018.

1. paultma

paultma

Jan 5, 2016
    Just acquired this bass. Does anyone know what the correct length of strings one of these requires? It's about 33" from nut to ball end and 30"-31" to saddles. (note sure how to read this.)

37105195_501530640303360_4883231305627598848_n.jpg
    Also, need to find replacement machine heads.
    Would any 2L 2R bass machine heads do the job?
    The previous owner just put regular guitar ones on as a temporary measure.

ruobcp.jpg
    zxjfoo.jpg
    30csgw6.jpg

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    Short scale strings should fit. Not sure what to do with the tuners, real bass tuners would require drilling new larger holes.

3. paultma

paultma

Jan 5, 2016
    I'm not an expert - which why I'm asking on this forum - but I would have thought this is not short scale at all?

Very keen to not waste my money on the wrong length strings.

4. bholder

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    30" scale is short scale for a bass - normal length is 34" from nut to bridge saddle.

5. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Measure from the ball end to the taper. That's the point on the string where it gets narrow past the nut. Ideally that point should be between the nut and the tuning post on the E string. That's the length of string you need. "long" "short" and "medium" mean different things to each manufacturer.

To figure out what tuners you need, measure the holes in the headstock. That will tell you what size tuner will fit without modification.

6. Do what @lz4005 said an measure the strings. 30” is short scale but the tailpiece being out behind the bridge may mean that you need longer strings.