Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

**JORIS** Your help is needed.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Grahams Groove, Jul 10, 2001.

1. Hey,
    As you can see, im pretty new to this whole deal, but i have a few questions for you on amps, clipping, wattage, etc...And I'm asking for your expertise(sp?) because it was reccomended that i ask you...now, for the questions.

1)Is it bad for the amp or speakers/cab to push a cab with an amp with a lower power rating than the cabinet?? (ex:pushing a 600 watt 4x10 with 240 watts...)

2)Am II doing anythign wrong if i am pushing a mesa 4x10 with a nemesis 210p combo amp? So I think im pushing like 200 or 225 watts into 6 10's...(Sounds good to me, and its actually very loud, but i just want to make sure that its OK)

3)Would it be louder if I kept the setup I explained or sold the nemesis and bought a head to push just the mesa 4x10? (I am thinking the hartke 3500 because its pretty reasonable and in my price range, has a Tube/SS pre-amp, and has ample power for the situations i am in.)

4)I'm not sure if you could even answer this, but how much should cones be moving at the most when you play??? Cuz every time i see a cone moving a good 1/2 inch or so out, it seems to worry me...Is that too much pressure and movement on the cones or am i just anal and they are just doing their jobs???

Thanks...
    Graham

2. I see this has had a few looks...if anyone has any definate answers or anythign, feel free to post them....

3. Phat Ham

Phat Ham

Feb 13, 2000
    DC
    1) Its not a problem as long as you don't over exert the speakers. Some people say its actually better to have more power in your amp than your speakers can handle.

2) As long as the total impedance of the speakers is not lower than what the amp can handle you're fine.

4. leper

leper

Jun 21, 2001