JPJ: anyone ever analyse his musical style?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Rockin John, Jan 13, 2006.

1. Popping the Led Zepplin II CD on encouraged me to look over the TB threads on the guy. Most seem to focus on what a great bassist he was then / still is now. I happen to agree with that 100%.

However, his musical abilities - the way he wrote and played his basslines - are of more interest to me than his standing in the bass world.

So, I ask has anyone ever examined the way he created his basslines? If so, what was discovered?

To me (I have no real music theory knowledge) his work generally seems quite busy on Led Zep II, yet melodic at the same time. There's groove, power, the lot. But is his playing bassed on Blues, or perhaps Jazz? Or perhaps it's more Motown influenced?

One thing I do suspect, though, is that his skill on bass comes directly from a thorough grounding in musical theory. (Jack Bruce was much the same, I understand).

Wisdom appreciated.

2. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005
    when my teach taught me the workings of ramble on, he started by explaining that the 6th was a big part of his sound. since then ive noticed its true, especially on II where his bass lines are most promenent.

Beyond that i got nothing:ninja:
  3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    IMO, it's Blues + R&B/Motown...& the fact that he was a session player(open mind/ears to a diversity of styles).
    The early-mid '60s was a fertile time for those with the talent/imagination playing electric 'Rock' bass.
  4. DaveBeny

Mar 22, 2000
    London, UK
    There's an old 'Bassist' interview where he states that producers liked to book him because they could put a chord sheet in front of him and he could quickly cook up a Motown-style bassline. When asked to pick his favourite three bass albums, he chose a Motown compilation, some Mingus and Weather Report's 'Heavy Weather'.