Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Judas Priest-Revolution

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by bass_drum, Apr 30, 2005.

1. bass_drum

bass_drum

Feb 13, 2005
    Alberta,Canada
    Is it just me or is the intro in this song played on a bass?

If so, do any of you guys have any clue what distortion/effects he uses to get that sound?

2. NOLA Bass

NOLA Bass Mr. Worst Case Scenario Man Gold Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2005
    New Orleans LA
    Not sure what he uses except for Spector basses and Ampeg amps, but that is definitely the bass in the song intro. If I had to guess, I'd say a Sansamp. It doesn't sound like an overdriven amp. It sounds more like the distortion tone I get with my Spectors when I use my Sansamp as a distortion pedal.
    Awesome record!!!

3. bass_drum

bass_drum

Feb 13, 2005
    Alberta,Canada
    Sorry for sounding like a total newb, but whats a sansamp?

4. BassGod

BassGod

Jan 21, 2004
    A SansAmp is a DI box, and a lot of people like to use them to get a nice overdriven tone. I'm sure a more experienced user will help you to find the right settings for this particular case. It would be a great tool to have (if only I had the money!)

Graeme

5. bass_drum

bass_drum

Feb 13, 2005
    Alberta,Canada
    So Sansamp=DI box with EQ and Effects?

6. BassGod

BassGod

Jan 21, 2004
    Yep. Well, just one effect really (the overdrive).

Graeme

7. NOLA Bass

NOLA Bass Mr. Worst Case Scenario Man Gold Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2005
    New Orleans LA