1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Junk or worth tinkering?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by txpitdog, Jul 10, 2014.

1. txpitdog

txpitdog

Jan 1, 2006
    I am a beginner LH bass player. I bought a Johnson (by AXL) p-bass off craigslist for $100. At the time I bought it I didn't care about the tone, action , etc because I figured I would dump it for something better if I stuck with it and enjoyed playing. Fortunately the thing stays in tune, the neck is straight, and the frets have stayed in place. I really don't have any complaints about it for what I paid for it.

I can't find much info on Johnson or AXL instruments but I have discovered through the interwebs that some off brands can be decent, like SX. Does anyone have experience with Johnson basses, and if so are they built well enough that it would be worth another $75 to put in a Quarter Pounder pickup or should I leave it as is and save the $75 towards a better bass?

2. I'm not familiar with the Johnson brand or if it was an OEM maker, the brands that used the product under a different name. The important thing is the thing plays well and sounds well as far as you are concerned relative to what you shelled out for it. If you want to "tweak" it I don't see any reason why you shouldn't. But to make it worth your while (and money), buy pre-owned stuff rather than new for the major components so your "buy in" and "sell out" prices wouldn't be that far of if you decide to dispose of them (heck, you could even make money out of them if you buy and sold well). The nice thing about going this route is you could hear/feel for yourself how the mods change the outcome. Hopefully by going through different components you would eventually find one that is IT. Make one mod at a time (don't do two or more mods at the same time) as you wouldn't know what caused the change in the output.