Just Beginning and looking for bass recomendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by betabassman, May 3, 2004.

1. betabassman

May 3, 2004
    I would say that I'm a new bassist, but I don't even have a bass yet. I am interested in learning how to play the bass, and have a couple of questions to see if I can select a bass that will make it easier for me to pick things up.

1) Dexterity necessary in both hands? I am both right and left handed, but have significantly better finger dexterity in my left hand, while my right hand has better control to the wrist. (it's a long story). I started playing guitar about a year ago, and played a standard right handed guitar - It worked ok, except that I had a hard time picking fast with my right hand. I'm expecting that I will buy a standard right handed bass, but I figured that if I was going to change it would be best to do it in the beginning.

2) Acoustic vs electric? I am interested in an acoustic bass, so that I can practice and play with friends who all play acoustic guitars. I'm thinking that if I get one of the acoustic/electric basses, I will have the best of both worlds. Am I fooling myself?

3) Any brands or types that I should stick too, or stay away from? One of my friends told me that he tried playing the guitar for a while, andwas continually frustrated until he picked up a friend's martin guitar. He said that it was so much easier to play, he actually enjoyed practicing. If I need to spent a few more bucks to get something that is going to be "easier" to play, I'd rather do it to give my self the best chance to succeed. I see acoustic basses by Epiphone "El capitan", Kona, Tacoma, Dean, and Ibanez among others.

I appreciate any thoughts or comments to help me move forward with this idea of learning the bass.
  2. Well the way I see it is that you should start with electric. now why:

-Its easier to play
    -It isnt that expensive to get a good one
    -the action and string spacing are a lot more comfy.