Just got a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by storm10, Oct 10, 2004.

1. I just got an upright bass and ive been playing electric bass for 4 years now. Im having alot of trouble because the notes are so far apart. Is there anyway i can get something that will mark where the notes are at on the fret board?
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Duck when you see Paul Warburton coming -- and I'll not steal his fun.

Go read the newbie threads, then get teacher.
  3. Gufenov

Jun 8, 2003
    Welcome to the dark side! You'll get some great advice on this board, but be careful of using terms like "fret board." Just seeing the word "fret" causes some of the purists to break out in hives!

You'll find arguments here for both sides of the marking the fingerboard issue. Some do, while others feel it's some sort of double-bass blasphemy (bassphemy?) to do so. If temporary markings will help you, a piece of masking tape or even a pencil mark will suffice. Use a good tuner to find the right spot to mark, and remember that the position of the note can chage slightly due to humidity, different strings, and various astrological alignments. Work on training your left hand to get to the position without looking at a mark, and your ear to identify when your intonation is correct.

And don't be scared off by the "get a teacher" mantra. That's kind of a knee-jerk reaction around here. Not everyone has access to a qualified teacher, and not everyone who calls him/herself a teacher is qualified to be one. A teacher can help you develop proper technique, so you don't develop nasty habits that are hard to break - and could lead to injury. But, it is possible to learn without formal instruction, as many TB members have demonstrated.

Good luck!
  4. Hi man, welcome to TBDB. I'm the guy Ray warned you of. We don't call that long black thing on a DB a fret board. Why? I ask you? Because it has NO frets! So, we call it a fingerboard!