1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Just got asked to play a 2 hour setlist in 2 weeks! need help building finger stamina quick!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Ron Johnson, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Ron Johnson

Ron Johnson

Nov 19, 2014
    Chicago, IL
    The guitarist from my new fusion group just asked me to play a benefit show on the 19th that has a two hour setlist full of Iron Maiden and Ozzy Covers. I'm not that experienced, but I just started learning the songs and they are definitely within my skill range. My concern is that the setlist is almost two hours long and I'm not sure if my plucking fingers can make it that long without being shredded to the bone. The setlist for my old metal band was only about 45 minutes, and that was just pushing how far my fingers could go. My new fusion band just began and we have not done any shows yet. I thought this Ozzy/Iron maiden cover show would be a great opportunity for me to improve my stamina, so does anybody have a good system where I could make my plucking fingertips as hard as rocks within two weeks? I've made a thread about this issue a while ago when I was in my last band and first started gigging, but I'm having the same issues. My fingers will blister, harden for a day, and then the calluses would scrape off and I'd be back to soft fingers. I used to apply a few layers of liquid bandage to my fingertips and they would last about 15 minutes through a gig, but that stuff takes a while to dry and it's not like I can re-apply it several times during the setlist. Any tips on how I could properly callus my fingers within two weeks? Thanks.

Oldschool94 likes this.
  2. Helaskold

Helaskold 100% Mediocre

Jul 22, 2012
    Austin, TX
    I would also like to hear some good responses on this, commenting for updates

3. The Chuck

The Chuck

Dec 11, 2013
    Wilmington, NC