Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just got my bass!! Need Help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jkrobs, Feb 16, 2006.

1. jkrobs

jkrobs

Feb 2, 2006
    Hi there, I just picked up my first ever bass guitar from my local shop..I love it. Looks beautifull sounds great! it's a Yamaha RBX-375..It is brand new, but was sitting on the wall of the shop..Before I took it home the guy tuned it for me and also put it in a box...

but not the original box. It did not have any owners manual with it..so Im very confused as Im complete novice to bass. Can't even play one. anyway, Ive tryed palying it...but Im having big trouble with it. First it dam heavy and I can't seem to relax with it..all the strings seem tuned..but the thickest one..the Low B..(oh and by the way It's 5 string )

Well the low B..seems not in tune, but he sayed it was fine. it makes a strange buzzing sound. Also Im not sure of the 4 buttons on it..and there a battery thing at the back..Im wondering if It's dead or not? Like a 9v batter. square battery thing. To be honest with you I love this bass..but I wanna feel comfortable..Im not sure where to start. Where do I press down on the string? on the metal line bits? or inbetween them? I know those are frets. It had 24 frets by the way. Please help me!!

2. pointbass

pointbass Semi-Retired Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Acworth, GA
    Endorsing Artist: FBB Bass Works
    Well, first of all, congrats on the bass!

You really need to get a few minutes of very basic instruction about the parts of the bass and how it works. Take it back to the store you bought it from and ask them to help you understand what all of the knobs/switches do. That will at least get you started.