Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just got my Conklin GT-BD7 in the mail

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bryan R. Tyler, May 29, 2002.

1. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I got my Bill Dickens model Conklin in the mail today. I love this thing! I purchased it from TB's own Mrfretless, who was incredibly helpful and informative (good qualities in a seller) and it's in superb condition. The sound, playability, and appearance and huge steps above the Samick fiver I've been playing for almost six years. The seven-string is a whole new ballgame. This is a pic that Mrfretless took. It really is a beautiful bass, and the closest I've ever come to a "higher end" instrument. I'd recommend this bass very highly.

2. incubus2432

incubus2432

Mar 21, 2002
    Grafton, Ohio
    Nice........I had enough problems with a 5 string........that thing would give me nightmares:eek:

3. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Niiiiice!

I love the Conklin 7s...so much bass goodness that it makes the mouth drool!

4. boogiebass

boogiebass

Aug 16, 2000
    Cool, man! Looks like a real beauty. I love my Roscoe 7. Welcome to the world of extended range.

5. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    Thanks guys.

Yeah, it is a real beauty. Right now I'm having a good time figuring out all the knobs and switches. Does anyone know the best solution to use to clean the purpleheart fingerboard (JT?) ? I know purpleheart is naturally oily, so I figured something other than lemon oil would work best.

6. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT