Just got my first fretless and I have some questions.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ThunderStik, May 27, 2003.

1. ThunderStik

ThunderStik Guest

Jun 25, 2001
    Claremore OK.
    I have been playing bass for 17 years and this weekend I just picked up my first fretless. I am not having near the trouble I thought I was going to have with playing it but I was wondering what are some good cd's to pick up to highlight the use of the fretless? Im not talking about Jaco or Steve Bailey, Im talking about in the context of a song. I need some stuff that would highlight the all the differences and the use of the tones and technique and subtleties that make the fretless unique. I dont want to sound like im playing fretted bass just on a fretless. I hope you guys can understand what im trying to get across. Thanks for any help. (This may need to be moved but not sure though)
  2. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    One thing to do is to practise playing in tune, otherwise not all your 'subtlteties' will be intentional ;)

As highlighted at my recent lesson with Steve Lawson, that doesn't just mean playing in tune when concentrating on a scale but also making sure your fingers don't start to miss the mark as you hold down the groove over the length of a song!

Once you've mastered playing in tune, then one of the things you can listen out for is ways in which you can nudge certain notes slightly sharp or flat for effect... but it will be much more musical if you're doing this on purpose instead of by accident!

3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    A better fit in Technique, I think...
  4. Good advice by Wulf.

As for Cds, two that have helped me are "Fingerboard Harmony," and "Jazz Bass." They're both available at Carvin's site.