1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

just got my new Essex jazz, should i have spent more ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chi42069, Aug 15, 2003.

1. chi42069

chi42069 Guest

Apr 23, 2000
    kentucky
    hi, i just got a new Essex Jazz with the flame top. I was a lil disappointed when i started playing it. It buzzed like crazy. Plus it had scratches around the edges of a few frets. I had put the action up pretty high to avoid fret buzz. Besides that, i think this bass feels pretty solid. Looks sharp. But the playability is what im concerned with. It seems to buzz a lot. I knew that when i bought this bass, i would have to put a lil more money into it. Now, im wondering if i should have spent more money and got something nicer. Maybe a Rockbass for $340, or Spector, or Dean. I also might be joining a band whose guitar player uses 7 strings.

I'm either thinking of keeping this bass and eventually get a 5 string essex or brice. Or returning it and buying a nicer 4 or 5 string. What do u all think?

2. Brooks

Brooks

Apr 4, 2000
    Middle East
    Personally, I'd take it for a pro setup and keep it.

3. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    seconded.

and trust me that guitarist WILL get bored of a 7 string :p

4. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    +1 good idea

planning on getting this as my next bass

[​IMG]

pearl block inlays on rosewood, lake placid blue

only $230

5. chi42069

chi42069 Guest

Apr 23, 2000
    kentucky
    i wouldn't mind keeping it. I just keep thinking that if i spend a lil more i can get something better. Mostly in terms of playability. How does your essex's playability compare to other bass u have played?

thanks

chi

6. steve-o

steve-o Guest

Apr 17, 2002
    i wouldn't judge it until you get a good setup

steve

7. Scott D