just got my upright!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by bassmonkey144, Jun 12, 2004.

1. finnally, after 6 months of waiting, i went out and rented an upright. from paiges music. the rent to buy dealy. anywho, they gave me the works, case, bow, rosin, music stand, book, rock stop, cleaning cloths, ect. i had been playin electric for like 3 years or so. and my friends in orchestra said i should play bass for them, cuase they have about 6 players, to play in 8 orchestras ( my highschools huge). so i talked to the orchestra teacher about it, and she recomended i try to learn a bit over the summer, and she would help me during the school year. now i know the first rule is to get a teacher. so i talked to my eb teacher about it, and it turns out he plays upright too. so hes gonna help me on that. i just wanted to share my excitement on getting an upright. my hands havnt been this sore since i started playing EB. :D :D :D
  2. Chef

Chef Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

May 23, 2004
    Columbia MO
    Staff Reviewer; Bass Gear Magazine
    Coolio bro!
    Mine should be here in two weeks, so you're ahead of me...
  3. azflyman

Apr 24, 2004
    Astoria, OR
    I feel your pain. I just received my Upton Bass last week. I play until my fingers hurt, but not too long. I found that out the hard way. I practiced too long the first day I had time and had to lay off a few days and heal. The tips of my left hand felt like someone hit them with a hammer. :confused: URB strings are much more challenging than EB for sure. Now I just practice every day until sore but I dont push it. You would think 28yrs of EB would help but noooooo. :mad:

4. azflyman

Apr 24, 2004
    Astoria, OR
    Oh, by the way, welcome to the dark side. :D

5. Chef

Chef Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

May 23, 2004
    Columbia MO
    Staff Reviewer; Bass Gear Magazine
    Crap! I was hoping it would...:)