1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Just had my first bass lesson..

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by gjbassist, Nov 2, 2013.

1. ...and I'm both excited and overwhelmed!

I have been playing for over 15 years but never taken lessons until now. I thought I was a decent enough player. I have been in several bands and have received many compliments on my playing. However, after one lesson with a teacher who has been studying and playing bass for over 30 years I feel like a total noob. I am excited and the possibilities I have to learn and grow as a player but I'm also scared that I'm not going to end up being as good as I had hoped I could become! It makes me wish I had started taking lessons when I was younger (I'm 47 now).

Here is the guy I'm taking lessons from. I'm doing electric right now but hope some day to start on upright as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzxUFsZzHc4

2. Stick_Player

Stick_Player Banned

Nov 13, 2009
    Somewhere on the Alaska Panhandle (Juneau)
    Endorser: Plants vs. Zombies Pea Shooters
    If you think Electric Bass is difficult...

3. Space Pickle

Space Pickle

Apr 15, 2013
    ...wait 'till you try a Chapman Stick!

what?

4. Stick_Player

Stick_Player Banned

Nov 13, 2009
    Somewhere on the Alaska Panhandle (Juneau)
    Endorser: Plants vs. Zombies Pea Shooters
    I forgot about that. Especially if you leave the bow out of the Double Bass equation.

5. The upright is a long way down the road if it even happens at all.