Just noticed my pinky doesn't....

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by wicked mr happy, Oct 12, 2002.

1. I've been playing for about 5 months and I just noticed that I don't use my pinky on my left (neck) hand at all. I tried to see if i could but the thiung is i cant! My ring finger always comes down with it. Wierd thing is when I put my ring finger down on a fret my pinky doesn't have to move with it. It hasnt really been a real obstacle to my playing but I dont feel like a "real" bassist because I cant use the finger. Does anyone know any excercises to "fix" this?

P.S.: Obviously, im self taught cause an instructor wouldve caught that real quick.
  2. bassandlax

Dec 31, 2001
    Raleigh, NC
    the only way to really train your pinky for regular usage is to use it regularly. It is essential that you learn yo use your pinky as well as any of your other fingers. It expands your reach and keeps shifting to a minimum. Try practicing hamerons and pullofs with just index and pinkie fingers, or something along those lines. The more you use it, the more comfortable it will be.
  3. Turock

Turock Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2000
    What's the problem? If you can reach the note you are going for, why do you care if your ring finger comes down with your pinky or not?
  4. ill be sure and try that pinky hammer on excercise, thanks.
  5. Starrchild

Nov 10, 2000
    The Bay.
    try playing octaves using your index and pinkey..
  6. punk in drublic

punk in drublic

Sep 18, 2002