just now switching to fingers....

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by pestilence, May 23, 2005.

1. pestilence

Feb 4, 2004
    ok so i play in a melodic death metal band and we play pretty freakin fast and ive been using a pick for like 4 years now and everyones on me to use my fingers but im so uncoordinated with them and i miss strings and go incredibly slow, does anyone have any advice or maybe some riffs to practice, i dont know im desperate here

I'm really lucky I get to post here, since I don't know how to express myself like an adult. If the moderator has to edit my posts anymore, I won't be posting here again....
  2. I don't know that there's anything that can really be done to improve speed except to play everything you currently play, but with fingers, assuming your technique is proper. I've always played primarily with my fingers, so I find them fast and comfortable while a pick is unwieldy.

I wouldn't think of using fingers as changing your style so much as gaining a new tool. As for riffs and such, I like a lot of ratm: bombtrack, mic check, etc. and even stuff like videogame music (the super mario bros. underground theme is teh leet :meh: :bassist: ) but you'd probably have luck with whatever you like to listen to.
  3. Practice practice practice. Practice switching strings with your fingers, practice playing as fast as you can. Practice your scales, practice putting things in the right forums, practice practice practice.
  4. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

Dude... if you want to use a pick, then keep using a pick!!

But OK, if peer pressure is making life that difficult for you, then practice with your fingers... but use fingerstyle *in addition* to pickstyle, not *instead of*. :)
  5. +1