Just picked up a 2006 Fender Geddy Lee- What do now?

Discussion in 'Accessories [BG]' started by ramrodTM, Feb 26, 2019.

1. ramrodTM

ramrodTM

Feb 23, 2019
    Austin, Texas
    Hey all,

I managed to score a used CIJ Geddy Lee for a great price and it is awesome! This is my first time owning a "serious" instrument so I'm wondering- what are some essential things every bassist should have? I have the following:

Hardshell Case
    Earplugs
    Clip-on tuner
    Picks
    Extra strap

I imagine I would need a microfiber cloth for a quick clean after rehearsals/gigs. What else would I need for care and cleaning? Any recommendations on places to get pickguards? What are your string recommendations for a Fender Jazz? Thanks everyone!

Monterey Bay-ss likes this.
  2. sissy kathy

sissy kathy Back to Bass-ics Gold Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2014
    Arbutus, MD
    If you pick hard, and extra set of strings, rotate them out when you change them; that is mount you spare set and keep you new set for the spare. A capo. CIJ basses probably need either Japanese cross tip screw drivers, or all new new screws. A truss rod wrench. Hex keys for the various screws/bolts. A pouch for the tools you can keep in the case. Some sort of cloth for wiping down the base after use. Instrument cable.

ramrodTM likes this.
  3. mmbongo

mmbongo I have too many basses. Supporting Member

Don't forget a pedalboard.

3b2ea481f796e3c19c6423c683ca406bd4fa5c6e.jpg

ramrodTM and ONYX like this.
  4. Axstar

Axstar Inactive

Jul 8, 2016
    Scotland.
    Rip the head off some sweet Rush licks.

ramrodTM likes this.
  5. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Bootlegger guitars : S.I.T. Strings Supporting Member

Apr 5, 2007
    Florida USA
    Get an electronic tuner like a pedal

ramrodTM likes this.
  6. jaco944

jaco944 Supporting Member

Apr 13, 2005
    My vote would be play the snot out of it.

ramrodTM likes this.
  7. ramrodTM

ramrodTM

Feb 23, 2019
    Austin, Texas