just started with DB, what are some different playing styles

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by filmandmusic, Jun 9, 2004.

1. Well to start things off I am a high school student who has got the schools DB for the summer :bassist: ... I have played e-bass for a few years and have had a passion for DB from day one... what I would like to know is if there are any cool styles/ helpful tips for a new kid ?
  2. What style of music do you want to play? Do you have a teacher? A teacher will do more for you than an online message board.
    One thing I will suggest is this, listen to as much music as you can with DB in it, find what you like, than persue it with everything you've got.
  3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
  4. ok so lets take jazz for a little spin.... are there any fun plucking styles that I could learn and play with? and how would you play slap on one of these things haha
  5. As far as plucking goes the 2 ways I know of are 1 finger use the side of your index finger to pluck the string. Then the 2 finger, similar to BG style. Slap on DB is different than BG, that's all I can tell you about that. Here's a great idea, experiment on your own or maybe even take a few lessons! Amazing concept eh?
  6. haha well thanks, Ill look into that lesson thing
  7. Sorry if I came off like an a** in that last post. It was late I couldn't sleep I came online to entertain myself in my sleeplessness. But some lessons would be very helpful for more reasons than I expressed.
  8. hey look dude no problem, I understood what you ment... :) so I played around on the DB last night, it was cool... I played with some basic blues and jazz walking lines, it went pretty well :smug: I dont know if theres anybody around my part of the woods that teaches DB but Ill look for one
  9. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Sam Sherry, one of the moderators here, is from up that way. Maybe he can direct you.
  10. kurt

Mar 15, 2004