Just starting: cello v. bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by tegnoto89, Jan 23, 2009.

1. tegnoto89

tegnoto89

Dec 24, 2008
    Syracuse
    I'm currently an electric bassist, I've thought about moving to double bass within a couple of months. However, I have, for a long time, wanted to play cello, and I was curious as to whether the skills I'd learn on the cello would translate well to double bass after a couple years. Price isn't an issue; the rentals where I'm going are really really cheap. What do you guys think?

2. Brandon Tuomiko

Brandon Tuomiko Inactive

Oct 28, 2008
    Omaha Nebraska
    I was the same way. But reversed. I played violin for a year. Then I wanted to play cello. But that was not possible as the school did not have a cello for me to play. So there was a bass. So I played that. ANd about half a year later I got a cello. By then I was too far into the bass. So I did not play the cello and sold it.

I do regret it. THe cello was a beautiful instrument. Great sound. Harder than bass.

The cello is tuned in 5ths, bass in 4ths so the strings are different. CGDA I think.
    Bass is eadg.

The fingering is similar, But you are holding the cello different and it will throw you off. but Do try both. They are cool instruments.

I just started playing the cello again. I like the Bach Cello Suite No1. That really famous song. so i started cello again.

3. zeytoun

zeytoun

Dec 19, 2008
    Portland, Oregon
    The answer is always "yes", unless your resources (time, and money) are limited in such a way that forces you to prioritize. In which case, the priority goes to whichever you have has pulled you the strongest and the longest.

Regarding transfer of skills, while many tangible ones don't exactly line up, many less tangible ones transfer to whatever instruments you play. IMHO it's always worth it....

4. Bass Barrister

Bass Barrister

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago