just starting, need a little advice~

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Link, Jul 7, 2002.

1. Link

Jul 6, 2002
    Latrobe, PA
    okay, I"m a total newbie to the string bass as well as this site. I just got bass (3/4 hybrid) not that long ago and am attempting to play it. I've made a few posts on other boards asking for advice as well as a few e-mails on beginning the bass... and pretty much everyone has said "get a teacher". Originally I was going to try and pull this off mostly myself... but I think I"ll take everyone's advice and get atleast a few lessons. I"m starting to look around for a teach, but it's going to be difficult to find one with in reasonable driving distance and price. I taught myself the viola because I couldn't pin a teacher. Now, I"m not giving up on my search, but I've begun teaching myself a little (Would've combusted if I hadn't...) My dad self-taught himself to play, but hasn't really played since college and a friend of mine who also plays the bass won't be back till later this summer- :( so I have two people to fall back on but I"m still sorta out on a limb. Does any one have any tips or suggestions on playing bass or what I should work on until I can find a teacher? Anything at this point would be a help. Many thanks...
  2. Link

Jul 6, 2002
    Latrobe, PA
    I"d read through maybe half earlier and am almost done looking though most of them- I think I originally found this site off of Bob Gollihur's site and had some book marks of different sites but they got shafted when my old e-mail account bombed the last time. It's been a big help and thanks- Things are pretty much under control right now. THe only problem I have that I know of is that I'm 5'2" and it's al ittle hard to balance the bass when bowing. I'm starting to work that one out a bit though and I'm hoping ot get a teacher soon. I'll be sure to relay any questions that come up in the future. This site's a great resource. Thanks again! ~"Link":)
  3. Sam Sherry