Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just want to say thank you!

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Flatbass11, Jan 13, 2002.

1. Flatbass11

Flatbass11 Supporting Member

May 29, 2001
    Medford, MA
    I'm new to the URB world and I've been agonizing over how to ampify it.

I've been reading everyones posts, seeing what choices they have made in amps, speakers, pickups, etc, and trying to make the right choice for myself.

A big consideration was the time I had available to actually shop for the equiptment. So for me it came down to what could I get that was recommended versus what was available for me to hear locally.

So, I asked some local shops to order some recomended amps(Clarus, Eden WT400) and speakers(Bergantino, Bag end, Eden cxc series) and I set out to make a choice. Well, all the research I did went right out the window in some respects.

I ended up with a Yorkville(!) BM400 head and a Bergantino 112 cab. I knew the reputation the campany has in regard to the Traynor line they had. Decent stuff that's well made, but very, I guess, plain. Sort of the Carvin of Canada.

Well, the amp sounds great. It's like you took a power amp and put a parametric EQ on it. It's as nuetral as you want it to be. It also has a contour switch that scoops the sound that is almost perfect for URB. It's built like a tank, has plenty of power for EB, and is reasonably priced. The Bergantino sounds full and sweet. When I tried the Clarus, it just didn't have the flexibility the Yorkville does.

So anyway, I want thank all of you for your advice, because without it, I don't think I could have made such an informed choice in a short amount of time.

2. abaguer

abaguer

Nov 27, 2001
    Milford, NJ