Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by geezer316, Jun 13, 2003.

1. geezer316

Jan 26, 2003
    i was on a plateau with my bass playing and i was getting frustrated, i've been playing for a little over a year and the last few months i had to stop my lessons due to unemployment:bawl: . a new friend of mine has been playing for off and on for 8 years so i jam with him to get some idea's but it still was'nt enuff to get me over the hump. then after a long conversation about spontanous jamming i asked him how did he learned bass-lines that he would actually be able to use(i know almost every scale known to man but dont know WHAT to do with them)i wanted to know HOW he knew what to put in as a bass-line for any given riff/song, i just dont know what to do when jamming in my room or with another person. and i could'nt believe what a simple solution he had "GET A DRUM MACHINE" A DUH !:meh: ,and the sad thing is i am a drummer and have been since i was 9(i'm 32 now:eek: ). what a simple answer to such a complex question(or stupid depending on how you look at it). so he was kind enuff to let me borrow one of his and all day i have been playing riffs and chops i had no idea that i knew how to play:) ,i guess sitting in ones room noodling around on a bass can only get you so far before you need to expand your horizons,this is just the motivation i needed to get me over that hump. its like how i felt that first month or so when i was able to play that cool song i've been trying to learn forever. thanks for listening, i know its probably old hat for some of you people but for me it was ground-breaking information that will help me immeasurably. PEACE ;)
  2. On some drum machines you can input little guitar or piano (or other instruments) riffs as well. Then you can run the song through a stereo while you play through your amp.