Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just what is the "classic Jazz Bass" sound?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fender32, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Fender32

Fender32

Jun 23, 2005
    Kent, England
    I've been tinkering around with basses for 20+ years now and very quickly learned to identify the sound of a Precision Bass or a StingRay (both of which I love, by the way) when I heard one on a record . :bassist:

However, I've never been able to get my head around the "classic Jazz Bass" sound, despite owning one and having played dozens in shops. :meh:

So, my questions to masses is this: Can you suggest any popular recordings, which contain the architypal 60's Jazz Bass tone, please? :help:

Maybe I'm missing something, but Jazzes always sound a little more bland (or should that be "refined") than Precisions to me and at the same time, it's not a sound that stays in my memory. It could be that I've just been playing the wrong instruments and that some of those great basslines, which I've always assumed were played on a P Bass, may in fact have been played on a "proper" Jazz!

:smug: (this should open up a very interesting can of worms)

Incidentally, my current Jazz Bass is a Japanese, Noel Redding (may God rest his soul) signature model, now fittied with the very excellent "J Retro" active circuit and a Badass II bridge. It sounds ok, but if my house caught fire, I wouldn't run back in to save it (as I'd be weighed down with my Precisions and StingRay)! :D

Anyway, all suggestions welcomed....

2. Vox Populi

Vox Populi Reggae Loving Honkey

Jan 27, 2004
    Poulsbo, WA
    The jazz bass sound is what I think of as a "vintage" tone. Alot of treble, and punchier, more defined bass.