Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Just wonderin what you guys think about this...

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by TarHeel31533, May 14, 2003.

1. I have two friends that like to play my upright now and again. One plays guitar, the other EB. They both use their third finger like they would on their respective instruments. This, besides looking weird, seem to me like putting unesescarry stress on your fingers as well as possibly contributing to intonation problems. Anyone want to comment on this?

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    You got it wrong, three finger left hand technique is IN !

3. Really? Seems weird to me, I mean I use third finger on my EB, but I guess it's because I started playing DB first that it seems weird.

4. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Disclaimer: my chops aren't that great, I let my fingers do the walking.

But when I look at jazz bassists playing around me, like Patrick Caratini or Gary Brunton, I see lotsa three finger left hand technique going on. I've red somewhere (here ?) that Dave Holland does it and Alexosaurus told me that Micheal Moore is a believer. So, you should try to learn from your friends, my friend.

5. You got it right on, Cartwheel.

BTW, I saw Dave Holland a couple of weeks ago, his technique looked pretty normal.

6. Samie

Samie

Dec 13, 2000
    Madrid, Spain
    ???

What is the usual technique? two finger???

7. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    you can use all four if you don't let it stress out your hand, pivoting on your thumb.

8. Do you all think there is an advantage one way or the other?

9. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    no, just differences, I guess you can use whatever floats your boat, I don't use #3 until I get up higher, but usually I can play what I want without it.