Kay M5 B

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mthatcher61, Nov 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. mthatcher61

mthatcher61

Aug 31, 2016
    RIngwood NJ
    I just got a 1949 Kay M5 B ( Maestro 5 String Blond) . It is set up with helicore Hybrid (Gold Green Gold on the Bottoms) it has the B string on the bottom (BEADG). I play Bluegrass but am learning arco ( I am a fiddler) and the low B is not a big help in BG.
    I want to switch it over to EADGC. Will I need to get a new bridge /nut or can I just remove the B, shift the strings over and add a C? Do I get a Cello C String?

I'm relatively new to Bass, so I apologize if these are less than stellar questions.

2. Steven Ayres

Steven Ayres Supporting Member

Mar 11, 2007
    Northern Arizona
    Kay five-string basses were originally designed and set up for the high-C configuration, and C strings are available from the major manufacturers. So you can just change up the strings, and while the setup will be a bit loose, it'll work fine for what you have in mind, I expect.

robobass likes this.
  3. mthatcher61

mthatcher61

Aug 31, 2016
    RIngwood NJ
    I noticed that The Helicore Hybrids that are on it now, have that low B (just silver at the top). I looked and D'Addario dont m make a High C string. They make a low one, which just looks like a much longer E string ( I guess for those people with the C extenders). Do you know Who would make a C String that will go with Helicore Hybrids? I am but a rank beginner but plan on doing at least 50/50 arco/pizz. Pizz when I am hanging with my BG buddies and Arco when I am playing around at home.

4. mthatcher61

mthatcher61

Aug 31, 2016
    RIngwood NJ
    But also I was wondering, the nut and bridge have been 'notched' to accept those size strings, just shifting everything over one string, won't that make a smaller gage string in a larger gage notch? That is OK with Bass?

5. BobKay

BobKay Supporting Member

Nov 5, 2012
    Estero, Florida; USA