Kay S-51 s/n 6641

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by RichS, Apr 16, 2003.

1. RichS

Apr 16, 2003
    Hey Folks,

I'm a guitarist of 27 years (playing, that is), and a producer/studio owner in the Boston area.

Although I do play bass, I have very little experience with upright basses. I do, however, have an opportunity to buy a five string upright from a friend of mine.

I fell in love with this bass from the moment I laid my eyes and hands on it, but I know he's looking for more than he payed for it, so I decided to write in for some opinions on this particular bass.

As I wrote in the subject, it is a Kay model S-51 five string, serial #6641, and it is in very good condition.

First of all, is Kay of the top level of bass manufacturers, or is it in a lesser category?

Secondly, does anyone have any idea of the value of this particular bass, offhand?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

2. RichS

Apr 16, 2003
    Thanks for the info Ed.

Knowing now that this is a plywood bass gives me an idication about basses that I didn't know before, and I did do a search on line a little last night when I found out the bass was up for grabs, but again, I'm beginning my education in these basses right now.

On line, I did see prices within the range that you had mentioned, so your response solidified that for me, and my buddy is looking for an amount within that range, so I'm sure now that if I buy it, I will not be paying too much.

My general interest was in understanding the different levels of basses. For example, if as you say, it isn't about the manufacturer, then my question would be, what kind of basses do the top guys play, such as plywood vs. any other type?

I will continue to look around, as I do when buying any instrument, whether it be an Ibinez, an 1176 compressor, an ELUX251 microphone, or an old Martin Acoustic.

Thanks again.
  3. As far as different levels of basses...