Keeley Bassist or all compressors?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by jrbass70, Jan 10, 2022.

Tags:
  1. jrbass70

jrbass70

Jun 9, 2020
    Hi,

I am new to compression pedals and have been using the Keeley Bassist limiting amplifier pedal. One thing I notice is that it tends to compress more on the lower notes. For example, if I set the the threshold right around 12 o'clock and then play the E and A strings with medium attack I will see the LED light up but I have to attack the D and G strings harder to get compression to kick in. Also the LED light typically stays on longer for the lower strings.

When testing I am making sure to keep the EQ on my amp pretty flat, as well as my pre-amp (I am using a Sandberg TM4 and a Sterling Ray34 for my tests).

I thought that perhaps my lower strings were louder (maybe pickup height was a bit off). So - I put a DB meter on my phone and did my best to play equally loud open notes on each string but really didn't notice much DB level difference between strings.

Curious to know if others see similar behavior. For my taste - I'm not a big fan of the pedal right now. I actually find it easier to not over attack my lower strings - it is the higher strings where I often want to take the bite off especially when slapping. I still want the thump in the low and but am looking to take the harshness off the higher pops.

Is it possible this behavior varies with different compression pedals or do you find this kind of compression typical as to what one might expect? Thanks!

2. Single band compressors work on the overall signal. What you're experiencing is normal.

You could try a compressor with an attack knob. You might also want to look at a multi band compressor like the BOSS BC-1x.

Last edited: Jan 10, 2022
  3. Teryup

Teryup

Oct 16, 2019